The Minnesota Vikings might not be favored to beat the New York Giants but their best players has the odds in his favor.

Winning MVP is likely not to happen for WR Justin Jefferson but another honor, one that isn’t historically position-biased, has the All-Pro all smiles.

It looks as though for the second year in a row, a wide receiver will win the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year Award. Following a season in which LA Rams WR Cooper Kupp, similar to Jefferson, chased the single-season receiving yards record. Winning the ‘triple crown’ of receptions, yards and touchdowns.

According to Vegas Insider, the Minnesota Vikings playmaker is the odds on favorite to win the award. Currently sitting comfortably at -800 odds.

The next three players with the closest odds, and only others under +4000.

  • WR Tyreek Hill  +1400
  • QB Patrick Mahomes +1600
  • QB Jalen Hurts +1800

In reality, a 2200-point separation all but assures Jefferson to take home the award.

Other than Kupp, he won’t win the triple crown, unfortunately. Leading the league in receptions (128) and receiving yards (1,809), his eight touchdowns are only 11th in the NFL.

Assuming the odds makers are correct, Jefferson will be only the third player in Minnesota Vikings history to take home the award.

Alongside QB Fran Tarkenton (1975) and RB Adrain Peterson (2012).

A cherry on top of a fantastic, historical season.

Mandatory Credit: Mark Konezny of USA TODAY Sports